Copyright Info

I am posting this blog merely as a matter of record. I am offered the opportunity within Photoshop to add some information on each image I post including metadata. One of the things I am offered is a chance to enter a link regarding copyright policies. With that in mind, let me start with the law of the land; quote here from the United States Copyright Office, circular 40:

Copyright Registration for Works of the Visual Arts

General Information
Copyright is a form of protection provided by the laws of the United States to
the authors of “original works of authorship,” including “pictorial, graphic,
and sculptural works.” The owner of copyright in a work has the exclusive right
to make copies, to prepare derivative works, to sell or distribute copies, and
to display the work publicly. Anyone else wishing to use the work in these ways
must have the permission of the author or someone who has derived rights
through the author.

Copyright Protection Is Automatic
Under the present copyright law, which became effective January 1, 1978, a work
is automatically protected by copyright when it is created. A work is created
when it is “fixed” in a copy or phonorecord for the first time. Neither registration
in the Copyright Office nor publication is required for copyright protection
under the present law.

So what does that mean in plain English? It means that I own the copyright to the image as soon as I press the shutter. If you wish to use one of my images in a publication, whether in print, web or other media, just contact me; I’m reasonable. If, on the other hand you choose to try to use my image without my knowledge and I learn of it (and I have my ways) you will get a bill and I will expect you to pay it, even if it means taking you to court to do so.

About Lee Reed

Those of you who know me and my wife Karen, will know that she was recently granted a Fulbright Scholarship to teach nursing in Kampot, Cambodia later this year. We are looking forward to serving the Lord there in whatever capacity He has in store for us. View all posts by Lee Reed

Leave a Reply

